Algeria joined Tunisia in the final of the Arab Cup of soccer after a totally crazy end of match against Qatar. The Fennecs finally won thanks to a goal scored on a penalty kick at the ... 17th minute of stoppage time! Incredible!
This Thursday, Qatar received Algeria in the semi-final of the Arab Cup. And with a reshuffled team, but nevertheless favorite to the final victory, Algeria had to do a lot to win, against a Qatari selection well in place at the back, which was able to create dangerous opportunities during its offensive phases.
However, at the end of the second half, it is the Fennecs who were rewarded for their good start. But after the opening of the score at the 58th minute, the green start to defend too much, with the objective to protect the score. A strategy that could have paid off, with “ifs”.
If the referee had not announced 9 minutes of additional time, if the determination of the opponents had not allowed them to score a furious goal, with the head, at the 96th minute.
Everything has to be done again
At this point in the match, nothing is certain. On the side of Bordeaux, hope is reborn. In the Algerian camp, a whole project was called into question. It is necessary to start again to the attack, to go to conquer this victory which will take them until the final, to face the Tunisian neighbor.
And the minutes, already long, unbearable, continue to tick away, inexorably. After 9 minutes of additional time, the game continues. After 15 minutes, the game continues. And the twittosphere is on fire, calling for the head of the Polish referee, Mr. Szymon Marciniak.
C’est un scandale le match de l’Algerie face au Qatar je le jure qu’il est truqué déjà 9 minute de temps additionnel c’est du jamais vue et en plus y’a faute sur le défenseur algérien sur le but et l’arbitre ne siffle pas faute c’est scandaleux pic.twitter.com/Nsn5U2Jwsr
— Barta 🥷 (@Bartra7Binks) December 15, 2021
The Algerian coach Madjid Bougherra will also push against the refereeing, declaring “unbelievable” the 9 minutes of additional time announced.
However, in the 17th minute of additional time, the man in black, as if to be forgiven by a whole people, whistled a foul on Brahimi in the penalty area. Transformed in two times by Belaili at the 108th minute of the match, this penalty catapulted the Algerians in final, at the end of an intense match with a completely crazy outcome.